Templating the EDK (Updated for Pt4)

Thought of something everyone else is having trouble with and just wanna help them? Post it here.
User avatar
Warbear
Apprentice
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 20:24
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Templating the EDK (Updated for Pt4)

Post by Warbear » Sat Apr 18, 2009 02:15

That's exactly it.
Image
I do stuff...contact me.

speedcat
Greenhorn
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 20:24

Re: Templating the EDK (Updated for Pt4)

Post by speedcat » Sun Apr 19, 2009 00:37

mastergamer wrote:They're both just images that you create with photoshop and edit the CSS to use.

Suppose you're using the style "blue" and you have a file named "menu_bar_blue.gif" in your /style/blue/ folder, you'd edit /style/blue/style.css and change the existing kb-table-header bit to this:

Code: Select all

.kb-table-header
{
  height: 15px;
  background: #39475F;
  font-size: 10px;
  font-weight: bold;
  padding: 4px;
  background-image: url("menu_bar_blue.gif");
}
A similar thing goes for the striped loss background, but that requires you to be running the mod that displays the losses on the front page. You just edit the CSS for that in a similar way.
Thank you very much it worked but unfortunately only for all bars expect the navigation bar.
I searched for the code relating to navigation bar but couldn't find the same scheme as for
the menu bar like you described.

Any ideas?

best regards,
speed

speedcat
Greenhorn
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 20:24

Re: Templating the EDK (Updated for Pt4)

Post by speedcat » Sun Apr 19, 2009 06:03

Nvm. Found it out :)

Key is to edit the "menu.tpl" -file which holds the CSS shortcut for the menubar only.
Changed "kb-table-row-odd" in "navigationbar" and just added the background-image. Perfect!

Sorry for my noobish description but I'm really are php/css noob. But great tutrial from warbear so I found out.

Greetings
speedcat

Beor0d
Greenhorn
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 17:37

Re: Templating the EDK (Updated for Pt4)

Post by Beor0d » Fri Jul 03, 2009 03:10

Would love to see part 5 :D

User avatar
Warbear
Apprentice
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 20:24
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Templating the EDK (Updated for Pt4)

Post by Warbear » Sat Jul 04, 2009 00:16

When I stop doing 12 hour+ days, I will finish this off. Been very busy.
Image

I do stuff...contact me.

GrphX
Noob
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 19:33

Re: Templating the EDK (Updated for Pt4)

Post by GrphX » Wed Apr 14, 2010 21:29

Can some one help me pls ?

i would change the kb-tables (most recent kills) and (most recent losses) in the "Stats" view

but i can only change the normal kb tables.

Rhaven
Greenhorn
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 20:52

Re: Templating the EDK (Updated for Pt4)

Post by Rhaven » Sun May 02, 2010 07:03

ok been awhile since this was updated... I have a few qustions about making and setting a new main background to a etched stone look and it looks like some of this coding might have been changed for EDK 3.0.4 and am totally lost if I need to make a jif or if I need to make or have som eoen make a whole new mod... any advice or point in the right direction would be great.

mastergamer
Lead Moderator
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 20:24
Location: England

Re: Templating the EDK (Updated for Pt4)

Post by mastergamer » Sun May 02, 2010 10:24

Go to /themes/default and make a copy of one of the CSS files to use as a base. Name the copy whatever you want your new style to be called.

Assuming you've made a background image to use (and uploaded it as /img/backgroundimage.png) , just remove the background-color line and replace it with something like this:

background: url("../../img/backgroundimage.png");

Rhaven
Greenhorn
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 20:52

Re: Templating the EDK (Updated for Pt4)

Post by Rhaven » Sun May 02, 2010 20:22

Great thanks for the quick reply I have been dabbling in lixex for the last 2 yrs and a little bit of php and it has all been self taught... Thanks for the answer so quickly and informative info. Next question does the img in the PNG need to be a certain size?

mastergamer
Lead Moderator
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 20:24
Location: England

Re: Templating the EDK (Updated for Pt4)

Post by mastergamer » Sun May 02, 2010 23:23

No, it can be whatever size you like. It'll be set to auto-repeat across the page background though so something small and simple is best, although with some more CSS you can have a huge non-repeated planet or something.

Post Reply

Return to “Tutorials”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest